BJP national executive meeting on January 16, 17; Extension of Nadda’s tenure on card

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national executive meeting will be held on January 16 and 17 in the national capital, sources said on Tuesday.
According to sources, the party is expected to deliberate on the upcoming assembly and 2024 Lok Sabha elections. BJP national president JP Nadda’s tenure may be extended in the executive meeting. Nadda’s three-year tenure as party president will end at the end of this month.
Apart from this, many organizational decisions are to be taken.
The ruling party has increased the number of hard-to-win Lok Sabha seats in 2024 from 144 to 160 now.
A major part of this is from Bihar as it has broken the alliance with the Janata Dal (United) and is preparing to contest the elections on its own in most of the constituencies.
In these 160 seats, the party is working to expand its organizational network and reach out to the electorate for which the BJP has roped in several Union ministers.
According to the sources, the party’s top leaders are also regularly reviewing the party’s work in these seats.
In the 2019 elections, the BJP had prepared a list of similar tough seats and won them by a large margin.
The party won 303 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha in 2019, up from 282 in 2014.
The proposed assembly elections in many states are being considered as the ‘semi-finals’ of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.
Apart from the northeastern states, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Telangana will also hold assembly elections this year.
Assembly elections will be held first in the northeastern states of Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya. Elections are likely to be held in these states in February or March.
The terms of their assemblies are ending on different dates in March. Tripura is ruled by the BJP, while Nagaland is ruled by the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party.

Also Read: “Roads, Sewage Minor Issues Fight Love Jihad”: Karnataka BJP MP

Meghalaya is governed by the National People’s Party, the only party in the Northeast with national party status.
Elections will be held in three states simultaneously, followed by elections in Karnataka. The term of Karnataka’s 224-member Legislative Assembly ends on May 24. Elections may be held in the BJP-ruled state by the end of April or the beginning of May.
At the same time, the terms of the assemblies of Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana will end on different dates in December this year and January 2024.
The term of the 40-member Mizoram Legislative Assembly ends on December 17, while the terms of the Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assemblies end on January 3 and January 6, 2024.
Subsequently, the terms of the Rajasthan and Telangana Assemblies are ending on 14 January and 16 January 2024.
In such a situation, the possibility of simultaneous elections in these five states cannot be ruled out.
Apart from the assembly elections of nine states, the possibility of assembly elections in the union territory of Jammu and Kashmir this year cannot be ruled out.

dear readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not accept advertisements from governments and corporate houses. You, our readers, have supported us in our journey of honest and fair journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *